9th December 2013

Exploring the Future of Energy


The programme for the 2013 Nobel Week Dialogue, Exploring The Future of Energy, was broadly split into two parts, with morning plenary sessions followed by parallel streams of panel discussions during the afternoon. 

Videos of all programme elements (with the exception of some of the lunchtime events) can be viewed here.

Streamed online

Morning Plenary Sessions


Welcome and Opening Remarks


- Introductions to Morning Session 1 -

Anna-Karin Hatt (10:05 – 10:15): The challenge of our energy future - our window of opportunity

Fatih Birol (10:15 – 10:25): Overview of emerging energy challenges

Carl-Henric Svanberg (10:25 – 10:35): Energy scenarios and timescales


Panel Discussion: Assessing current energy outlooks

Panellists: Fatih Birol, Anna-Karin Hatt, Nebojsa Nakicenovic, Rajendra Pachauri and Christof Rühl

Moderator: Chris Llewellyn Smith


Günther Oettinger - The EU’s energy policy: an enabler to meet current and future challenges


- Break -


- Introductions to Morning Session 2 -

Hans Vestberg (11:45 – 11:55): Enabling transformative change in the Networked Society

Richenda Van Leeuwen (11:55 – 12:05): Towards achieving universal energy access

David Gross (12:05 – 12:20): Three Nobel anniversaries – the case for basic science


Panel Discussion: The unexpected contributions of curiosity

Panellists: Steven Chu, David Gross, Alan Heeger, Hartmut Michel, Mario Molina and Carlo Rubbia

Moderator: Robbert Dijkgraaf


Steven Chu - Necessity as the mother of invention and the sustainable energy challenge

Lunch Break, including Parallel Lunchtime Events


Introduction and Q&A for Stream 1

Discussion of the EASAC Report on Breakthroughs in Sustainable Energy by 2050 and Beyond

Speakers: Lennart Bengtsson and Elisabeth Rachlew

Moderator: Adam Smith

Introduction and Q&A for Stream 2

Discussion of the IPCC 5th Assessment Report

Speakers: Mario Molina and Rajendra Pachauri

Moderator: Semida Silveira

Introduction and Q&A for Stream 3

Nuclear energy/energy usage

Speakers: Carlo Rubbia and Jan-Eric Sundgren

Moderator: Chris Llewellyn Smith

Panel Discussion

New formats for communicating science

Panellists: Shuli Hu, Nancy Kawalek, David MacKay and Lou Woodley

Moderator: Beatrice Lugger

Panellists in Conversation

To be filmed by SVT

Panellists: Steven Chu, Robbert Dijkgraaf, Johan Rockström and Richenda Van Leeuwen

Moderator: Johanna Koljonen

Streamed online

Streamed online

Afternoon Parallel Discussion Streams


Stream 1

Stream 2

Stream 3


1A: The promised land of renewable energy: where can the science take us, and how do we get there?

Panellists: Steven Chu, David Gross, Alan Heeger, Hartmut Michel and Elisabeth Rachlew

Moderator: David MacKay

2A: The changing landscape of fossil fuel dependence: where are we going?

Panellists: Lennart Bengtsson, Fatih Birol, Shuli Hu, Mario Molina, Nebojsa Nakicenovic, and Christof Rühl

Moderator: Chris Llewellyn Smith

3A: Smaller footprints: how can we reduce our energy usage?

Panellists: David Awschalom, Pam Fredman, Anneli Hulthén, Johan Rockström, Semida Silveira and Jan-Eric Sundgren

Moderator: Elaine Weidman-Grunewald


1B: How do we meet the challenge of providing access to energy for all?

Panellists: Fatih Birol, David MacKay, Richenda Van Leeuwen and Elaine Weidman-Grunewald

Moderator: Adam Smith

2B: Our changing climate: how can we balance energy demand with sustainability?

Panellists: Lennart Bengtsson, Mario Molina, Nebojsa Nakicenovic and Rajendra Pachauri

Moderator: Semida Silveira

3B: What is the future for nuclear power?

Panellists: Steven Chu, Robbert Dijkgraaf, Elisabeth Rachlew and Carlo Rubbia

Moderator: Chris Llewellyn Smith

Streamed online

Concluding Plenary Session


- Break -


Introduction to Concluding Session: Olof Persson - Envisioning future transport systems


Concluding Panel Discussion: A transformed world? Mapping scenarios for our energy future(s)

Panellists: Fatih Birol, Steven Chu, Karin Markides, Johan Rockström and Semida Silveira

Moderator: Adam Smith